The loss of two major figures in J-rock

Most of you have heard the news already about the passing of X Japan’s bassist, Taiji, and Kagrra/shiki∞project’s vocalist, Isshi. Taiji was taken off life support after being hospitalized for a suicide attempt on July 17. Isshi was found dead in his home on July 18. My condolences go to their families and bandmates. The world of J-rock is mourning, as we remember the legacy they left behind.

Sugizo of Luna Sea and X Japan says it best in his blog post about Taiji:
“This parting came too fast, and I still haven’t come to terms with it.
But there is one thing I can say,
as my friends keep departing on their journeys for the other side
and now that so many people have lost their lives in the earthquake:
those of us who are still living should feel heartfelt gratitude for our lives.
Those of us who are still living must not waste the lives we have left.”

Isshi and Taiji, we will miss your music. May you be at peace and rock on forever.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Nice post, Jen. It’s really, really sad. That video of Taiji is awesome. And Isshi’s voice was so beautiful. I just don’t understand why we keep losing so many musicians.

    I’m afraid we will lose more soon. But I hope not…

    Sugizo’s message is really inspiring to me right now. I feel like I’m where I’m supposed to be…

    Reply

Leave a comment