Semi-hiatus: rethinking purpose

I’m going on a semi-hiatus.  It’s not a full one because I will continue to update with work I do for JRock247, NekoPOP, and Drama-MAX.  However, I won’t be posting anything, and Beneath the Layers will continue to be on hold.

Blogging has somehow turned into this chore that has been making me stressed despite the enjoyment I get from writing.  At this point, I have three blogs (four if you count my inactive steampunk one), and I am a contributor to four others.  That’s too much for me to handle.

I’ve become unsure about where I want this blog to go.  I started it to continue the education readers of my travel blog got while I was doing JET.  It was also a way for me to combat reverse culture shock.  It’s been almost three years since I left Japan, and my interests have shifted, partly from getting involved in the J-music industry and partly from just changing as a person.

My editor wants to discuss the future of Japanese entertainment sites, and it has me thinking about whether this blog is becoming redundant.  I know I have my Sister Cities stuff, unpublished JET insights, different features about science and subcultures, and Beneath the Layers interviews.  I want to share those things, but I also want have a more active role in my journalism gig.  Can I do both?  Maybe, but there’s other things too that are higher priority and more unique than a Japanese culture blog.

I want to ask you the following: what parts about my blog do you like the most?  This may help me determine what I need to cut from here.   I’m really unsure about why I have this blog now, and so its future remains up in the air.  Therefore, let me take some time off to think and if you have some feedback, I would love to hear it.  In the meantime, enjoy the A-kon links I share.

Listening to: “KNOW YOUR ENEMY” live by FROM ADAM ON DOWN

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

